Fashioninspa

Your Fashion Inspiration

The Metropolitan Constume Institute Gala 2010

with one comment

The Oscars of the east coast, the Metropolitan Costume Institute Gala, is THE fashion event of the year in my opinion.  I always wait in anticipation to see what everyone is wearing and when I head to NYC, I make it a point to check out the halls of the exhibition.  Last year’s Model as a Muse was one of my favorite themes ever.  This year, the theme is American Women: Fashioning a National Identity.  The hosts of the night were Oprah Winfrey, Patrick Robinson of the GAP, and Anna Wintour, Editor-in-Chief of Vogue.  GAP is part of the American heritage and is a perfect match in my opinion for this year’s gala but how could GAP dress women for the red carpet?  I didn’t buy the high-end designers creating dresses for GAP.  Actually, I didn’t like the collaborations at all, maybe it was because I didn’t feel it was GAP enough.

I was impressed by the dresses this year, they truly defined American fashion which is simple, elegant, and modern.  Below are some of my favorite dresses.  The Calvin Klein clad ladies looked the absolute best, with my utlimate favorite being Dree Hemingway. 

Dree Hemingway in Calvin Klein

 

The Metallics at the Met Gala

The Neutrals at the Met Gala

Cold Colors at the Met Gala

Thanks Just Jared and Style.com for the pics!

Written by fashionthreads

May 5, 2010 at 9:43 AM

Posted in event

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Watson not Rosum! My mistake

    fashionthreads

    May 12, 2010 at 1:27 PM


Leave a Reply

